In the Cool of the Day

I was in the garden this morning, in the cool of the day and thought about the scriptures “…taste and see that the Lord is good,” and how His word is a sweet aroma.  I thought of this because as I watered the herb garden the earthy fragrance of rosemary stirred the air and the sweet basil intertwined in a delicious Italian dance.  It was pleasant.  I watered the thyme and then oregano but inevitably returned to the rosemary bush.

I didn’t have the hot Texas heat beating down on the back of my neck pushing me to just get through the job of caretaking my landscape.  I was able to linger and think of another garden and God walking with man in the cool of the day. 

It’s a peaceful time of day.  Not much was stirring in my neighborhood save for the birds, a congregation of doves picking over bugs stirred up from last night’s watering.  It was nice to take a deep breath and inhale the herbal fragrance and the wet earth and think of God walking with me in the garden.  I couldn’t help but smile and pine for the day when I can do this with Him face to face.

Genesis  3:8

Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day…”

Of course the first act of sin had just been committed but this side of grace I can’t help thinking, how exciting it will be to hear God walking in the garden in the cool of the day.

I’m smiling ear to ear, the kind of smile that makes your cheeks hurt.  One day… one day I will hear that for myself.

One thought on “In the Cool of the Day

Leave a Reply

