He suffered and died

I knew that salvation was a gift, a free gift.  I like gifts, pretty sparklie things, unexpected things.  Salvation is a gift wrapped in a man’s body, a perfect body that was viciously beaten beyond recognition.  This gift was black and blue and bloodied.  Not very pretty.  Inside this gift was the blackest, dirtiest garbage of man’s depravity, the world’s sin.

The God of the universe, the God of all creation looked at this gift and called it perfect and beautiful.  A lot of thought and a lot of love went into this gift of salvation.

When I first heard that salvation was a free gift I thought, How nice. I have often thanked God for his sacrifice not really humanizing the cost, the death of His only son but He was God, THEY are God, surely He knew Jesus would rise again and reign in heaven alongside Him once more.  Death was just a means to a new beginning.

I didn’t see the real sacrifice until Passion of the Christ came to film.  Then I watched and felt the cat of nine tails bite into his back and rip out flesh and muscle.  His pain became real.  This man suffered.  Willingly.  And he did it for free.  I don’t have to do anything but accept His enormously priceless gift by saying, “Yes, I believe You are the Son of God.  Forgive me for I have sinned (and will keep sinning until You come back for me).”

And then forever begins a transformation of your life will take place like you could never have imagined.

Freedom comes at a price, just ask any soldier coming back from Iraq.

Leave a Reply

